BEHAVIORISM- “I AM WHAT I AM”

                                

 

Image adapted from google search

In my daily living, I have a notion that as long as I am happy regardless of my behavior , I am satisfied with it.  I did not give so much meaning or attention of what my behavior is.  What I believe before is that behavior is natural, influenced by my environment and I thought that was remaining constant. Not changeable at all. Or What “I am, I am” I am what I am.

I was enlightened  this with module 3, because it talks about behaviorism.  It discusses a different aspect of behavior in accordance with the Behaviorist expert and Psychologist.

Now, my notion before was inevitably change,   behavior has a way to change. There is a change of behavior when  learning occurs.  Learning that occurs without the use of reinforcement and punishment, does not account for other types of learning.

One Psychologist, John B. Watson says any person, regardless of his or her background, could be trained to act in a particular manner given the right conditionins. Conditioning occurs through interaction with the environment. Behaviorists believe that our responses to environmental stimuli shape our actions.

In our home, I have this habit behavior of daily routine schedule. I have this practice not to overlap  within that limit of habit schedule. Every Sunday we have this habit to go to the church, then going to the food chain, then going to the grocery and to have some leisure of some sports activities. When the time comes that this habit was changed after going to church there is no more leisure, there is no more family dinner then suddenly my behavior of going to church was changed. I don’t like anymore to go to church.

I realize that I am pleased  to go to church if there is a reward. If there’s an opportunity that makes me happy. But if the situation is sad I don’t want to repeat it again. Through admonishing of the teaching of the church I felt like a sheep that to follow to go to church always. I brought to my emotion which In effect, to the teaching of the pastor.

If there are reinforcement and punishment, my behavior will become undesirable. Base on my observation a person’s behavior/s turned out to be unpleasant if a person experience unpleasant situation such as bullying, maltreated, oppressed, offended and downtrodden. This experience can cause change of behavior into negative effect. There’s an intentional punishment which turns into a disadvantage and resulting to dismay, lose one nerve, scared and frighten to the next situation. Resulting to phobia that will scare to repeat again.

But if such punishment and reinforcement would give positive effect, like realization and there’s an acceptance of guiltiness after punishment so then there’s a change of emotional behavior. Example I have been punished because I stole the money in the drawer of mom. Then after the punishment I felt like guiltiness which in turn makes my behavior change that to promise that I will not repeat It  again. There’s a modification of behavior into a positive result.

I prefer to be regulated in school. In school my behavior was keen to observant and aware. Because people around you in school is not your biological family. My action and deed is not the same at home.

At home, I felt comforted. There’s a regulation, but there’s a consideration of all times because “family mercy”. “I am that I am” is a matter of the behavior of the beholder.    

Indeed,  Behavior is the result of stimulus – response (i.e. all behavior, no matter how complex, can be reduced to a simple stimulus – response association). Watson described the purpose of psychology as: “To predict, given the stimulus, what reaction will take place; or, given the reaction, state what the situation or stimulus is that has caused the reaction” (1930, p. 11).

Image adapted from Unicef and google search

References: (Cited in the Module by Prof. Malou Juachon-Behaviorism, Kendra                               Cherry, 2005; Behaviorist  Approach (Saul McLeod, 200; 2013);                                   Cited  in the text by Classical Conditioning (Kendra Cherry, 2005);                               Classical  Conditioning; (LearningTheories.com, 2014)

Leave a Reply

