MEMORY CAPACITY AND SPEED

Sometimes I wish to be a computer, which has a big memory capacity, manipulates information, or data. And has the ability to storeretrieve, and process data in a flash speed. Nevertheless, the computer is under the program of a man. But man, I don’t think so if a man has such memory capacity and speed like a computer.

In terms of my ability to learn, of course, I want to be better than any computer in all aspects of processing information.  It’s better to know all the process and procedure (Procedural Knowledge) rather than to know only how to operate (Declarative Knowledge). To install the computer, need more procedure to follow ( Power switch at the back, anti-static wrist strap, mother board, RAM(Random Access Memory, CPU and the socket , hard drive, CD(compact Disk)/DVD(Digital Video Disc) ROM(Read Only Memory)and video card).  But it is rewarding after installing the computer. Especially, if the computer  function immediately after turning on.

If all men, the same with the computer’s memory, perhaps all are of the highest level of Intelligence. The learning process is faster than an ordinary human being. This module showed us different kinds of memory, namely: Sensory Memory, Short term Memory, Long Term Memory (Explicit- (Declarative Memory-(Episodic Memory and Semantic Memory) and Implicit memory (Procedural Memory).

                     Image adapted from the Module 3B-Theories of Learning

What kind of Memory do you have? If your memory manipulates data and information in a  faster way, you are gifted. Gifted thinkers are rarely one-mode thinkers. Rather, they are great organizers of diverse and multimodal information. For teachers and parents of young gifted thinkers, we begin to understand why certain young, gifted thinker go awry, and why organization should be an essential aspect of gifted education. Sternberg and Davidson (1985) concluded that information processing of gifted children is similar to that of adults in capitalizing on patterns of information using environmental shaping techniques, having, exceptional problem-finding ability, and exceptional ability to conceive higher order relations.

For me, I am just an ordinary human being. A normal balance of human. I can remember my first teacher in Grade one, but I forgot already my teacher in Kindergarten. My first classroom like was  The classroom is organized. A place for everything and everything in its place. Only I take a second to retrieve this information. My remotest childhood memory was all of my peers going to the river and then swam, riding on a tire from the mountain until to the deep water. We’re enjoying jumping on the diving board and we’re going back home until 5:00 o’clock in the afternoon without lunch.  I’m on my working memory (Short term Memory) and (Long term Memory). I always use my Long term Memory. Every time I have seen photo from my previous batch mate. I don’t know I can recognize with them. Every time I drive my car (Procedural Memory). And Every time I played scrabble, or word games, I challenge my Semantic Memory. I always remember the events of my first day of school during my elementary days (Episodic Memory).

It’s a normal of human to forget sometimes. It’s merely due to a lack of good retrieval cues. One possible explanation retrieval failure is known as decay theory. Another theory known as interference theory -memories compete and interfere with other memories. When information is very similar to other information that was previously stored in memory, interference is more likely to occur. (Proactive and Retroactive interference). Suppression, a conscious form of forgetting, and repression, an unconscious form of forgetting.  Memories of painful or traumatic life events are far less likely to be remembered, discussed, or rehearsed.

This is my first time to hear regarding primacy-recency. I was enlightened with this principle because I thought in transmitting the discussion, there’s no need to apply primacy-recency principle. After reading this module. My memory was restoring my past event when I was in High School and College. I was realizing, the reason why there’s  a misconception regarding delivering or transmitting knowledge using the traditional way of teaching. This is what happened to me. When I was in college, I confused with some other knowledge because of different belief. Some other teacher is not using primacy-recency. The reason why I got the wrong answer in my exam because what I remember is the wrong answer. It is important to use primacy-recency teaching first the new information of skills during prime-time-1, since it is most likely to be remembered.  The students will remember almost any information coming forth at this time. It is important, then, that only correct information be presented. They were mentioned during the most powerful retention position, prime-time-1. The new material being taught should be followed by practice or review during the down-time.The teacher should follow the proper prioritizing transmitting the knowledge. Prime-time-1, then followed by prime-time-2).

 

 

References:

Wikihow How to Install computer hardware
http://www.wikihow.com/Install-Computer-Hardware

Kendra Cherry (2015) About Education ,What Is Long-Term Memory?http://psychology.about.com/od/memory/f/long-term-memory.htm

Kendra Cherry (2015) About Education ,Explanations for Forgettinghttp://psychology.about.com/od/cognitivepsychology/tp/explanations-for-forgetting.htm

Prof. Malou T. Juancho, Module 3B COGNITIVIST APPROACH, Theories of learning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

